Olympic Channel stream interactive live show celebrating 1 Year to Go until Tokyo 2020

As the countdown to the next Olympic Games reaches a year to the Opening Ceremony, Olympic Channel and some special guests mark #1YearToGo on 24th July 2019. Here's everything you need to know.

The countdown to Tokyo 2020 has reached a key milestone.

Wednesday 24th July 2019 marks exactly a year to go until the Opening Ceremony of the next Olympic Games.

To celebrate, events are being held throughout Japan and across the globe, and Olympic Channel will be broadcasting a special live interactive show where everyone can get involved.

Read on for everything you need to know about how to watch and send your comments for the team to put on air.

Who, what, where, and when?

Olympic Channel's 1 year to go Tokyo 2020 live special show will be presented live from the Let's Go! Go! event at the Tokyo International Forum.

Host Ash Tulloch will join Japanese double World figure skating Champion and two-time Olympian Miki Ando to welcome some special guests for a groundbreaking event packed full of exciting surprises.

We'll be talking to athletes, finding out more about the host city, looking at the sports you won't want to miss, and the ones that will be making their Games debut in a year's time.

The global show will start at 07:15 GMT/UTC (03:15 New York time, 08:15 London, 09:15 CEST, 16:15 Tokyo) and is due to last 25 minutes.

But with a show like this anything can happen, especially with the Olympic and Paralympic mascots #Miraitowa and #Someity around!

How can you get involved in the live show?

You can interact and watch live via the Olympic Channel social media accounts, including youtube and twitter. On our facebook page you can set up an alert by clicking here to be reminded when the show is about to start.

Using the latest technology, our team will be including the best posts on-screen while we're on air, so make sure to tag @OlympicChannel and use the include #1YearToGo in all posts.

The presenters might even read-out your comments, and questions for our star guests.

You can also vote in a special interactive poll. Stay tuned to watch the result before the end of the transmission.

Of course, the show will be available worldwide live on the Olympic Channel website (bookmark this page!), our mobile apps, and on connected TV devices for free and without subscription.

If you miss the live broadcast, don't stress.

The show will be available in full as an on-demand video shortly after the broadcast ends (though remember we'll only be able to read and display your comments on screen if they're sent during the live transmission).

There's also a separate Japanese-language show at 15:30 Tokyo time (07:30 GMT/UTC).

Get your glasses on

From 24th July you can even join in the countdown by wearing the Olympic Rings sunglasses.

Head over to the Olympic Channel Instagram account and, using our special edition filter, take a video or snap a selfie wearing the sunglasses.

Be sure to tag @OlympicChannel and use the hashtag #1YearToGo when you post.

But be quick – it’s only available for 17 days!

Get your glasses on! Olympic Rings Instagram filter launched to mark 1 year to Tokyo 2020

Get your glasses on! Olympic Rings Instagram filter launched to mark 1 year to Tokyo 2020

We'll have more on that in our instagram tv show 'The Lowdown', where presenter MD will round-up the best sunglasses videos, clips from the show, and action from the 'Ready Steady Tokyo' test events taking place across the host nation.

Coverage of the one year to go celebrations will also be included in this week's official Olympic Channel podcast episode (from 24th July), where host Ed Knowles will also be joined by some star names.

More to come over the next year

Don't forget you can find more about Tokyo 2020, including information about the stadium and venues, plus the full competition schedule, in our comprehensive round-up article.

Tokyo 2020 will be the fourth Games held in Japan, following Tokyo 1964 and the Winter Olympic Games' at Nagano 1998 and Sapporo 1972.

We'll be providing in-depth coverage, so make sure you check in daily to the Olympic Channel for inspiring stories, exclusive interviews, breaking news, behind-the-scenes and original series before, during and after Tokyo 2020.

Enjoyed this story? Share it with your friends!