Aditi Ashok finishes tied-30 at Andalucia Costa del Sol Open golf

Indian golfer Aditi Ashok put up a far better showing in the final two rounds compared to her first two in the season-ending Ladies European Tour event.

By Utathya Nag ·

India's Aditi Ashok put on a much-improved showing in the final two rounds of the Andalucia Costa del Sol Open golf event to finish tied-30 at the concluding tournament of the Ladies European Tour (LET) season.

Aditi Ashok, who had earlier scraped through to the weekend rounds after registering a score of eight-over, stepped up her game in the third and fourth rounds. Her Indian compatriot Diksha Dagar had failed to make the cut.

Teeing off for the third round at the Real Club De Golf Guadalmina in Malaga, Spain, placed tied-54th, Aditi sunk six birdies against three bogeys to score three-under 69 in round three. It was her first under-par scoring round of the event. 

Aditi Ashok climbed 13 places to end day three placed at tied-41 on the leaderboard.

In the final round, Aditi managed a one-under 71 score courtesy three birdies and two bogeys, to end the final round with four-over 292 and climb up the leaderboard to tied-30. 

Aditi played the final four LET events after opting to give much of the LPGA tour a miss after the restart of sporting activities post the COVID lockdown.

Andalucia Costa Del Sol Open golf final leaderboard

Denmark’s Emily Kristine Pedersen won her third successive LET title after seeing off a spirited challenge from Spain’s Nuria Iturrioz.

The Dane’s total of 15-under 273 was enough to beat Itirrioz to the trophy by four shots.

The win concluded an amazing season for Pederson, who won four LET titles this year. The 24-year-old’s only win before this season was at the Indian Open in 2015.

The first of Pedersen’s four titles on the LET this season came at the Tipsport Czech Ladies Open in August. She followed it up with back-to-back victories in Saudi Arabia earlier this month before completing a hat-trick in Spain with the Andalucia Open.

Pedersen is the first player to win three consecutive LET events since Marie-Laure de Lorenzi in 1989.