Apurvi Chandela, Divyansh Singh Panwar win in Austria

Deepak Kumar and Anjum Moudgil also won medals in the tournament held in Innsbruck.

By Olympic Channel Writer ·

India’s women’s 10m air rifle ace Apurvi Chandela clinched the gold medal at the Meyton Cup in Austria on Tuesday.

The 27-year-old shooter, who had secured an Olympic quota in September by finishing fourth at the ISSF World Championship, managed a score of 251.4 in Innsbruck.

She was followed by compatriot Divyansh Singh Panwar, who also won a gold medal in the men’s 10m air rifle event with an effort of 249.7. He has booked his place in the 2020 Olympics by winning a silver medal at the ISSF World Cup in Beijing last year.

Wins in the Meyton Cup, however, won’t influence the rankings of the shooters as the private competition remains an experience-gaining ground ahead of international events.

Anjum Moudgil strikes bronze

India also saw two other shooters winning medals in the competition in Deepak Kumar and Anjum Moudgil in the men’s and women’s 10m air rifle events, respectively.

Having previously booked her Olympic quota by clinching the silver medal at the ISSF World Championship in Changwon last November, Anjum Moudgil continued her form in Austria as well by finishing third with a score of 229.

Deepak Kumar, on the other hand, shot one less at 228 but it was enough to see him on the podium for the men’s category. He won his Olympic quota back in November last year at the 14th Asian Championships in Doha, where he managed to win a bronze.

Kynan Chenai shines in national trials

Back in India, at the second national shotgun selection trials going on in Tughlakabad’s Dr. Karni Singh Range, Olympian Kynan Chenai saw a narrow finish at the men’s trap event.

He was given a close competition by compatriot Vivaan Kapoor, who was at par till the end as the duo topped the field after three rounds with scores of 74 out of 75. They managed to shoot 24 after two rounds to sit atop as Bhowneesh Mendiratta and Ankur Mittal sat second with a score of 73.

The women’s trap event saw World Cup silver medallist Seema Tomar finishing first with a score of 71. She was followed by Rajeshwari Kumari (70), Pragati Dubey (70), Kirti Gupta (69) and Anam Basit (67).