Australia and Poland shine at World Rowing Awards

The Aussie Men's Four and Poland's Women's Quadruple Sculls team sweep Crew of the Year in Berlin

Undefeated Aussies continue their win streak

Australia's Men's Four swooped up the 2018 Men's Crew of the of the Year at the World Rowing Awards which were held in Berlin, Germany.

It reflects their spectacular season this year which has seen Alexander Hill, Jack Hargreaves, Spencer Turrin and Joshua Hicks win back-to-back World Championship titles and World Rowing Cups 2 and 3.

"We're incredibly grateful and honoured to receive this award from World Rowing and to be recognised for our achievements over the last year as a crew." - Jack Hargreaves shares with Australian Olympic Committee

The crew, coached by Ian Wright, are undefeated in 2018 as they picked up their second World Championships title in Plovdiv, Bulgaria earlier this year. Prior to this crew winning the World Championships title in 2017, Australia’s Men’s Four had not won the World Championships in 26 years.

The Australian foursome beat off competition from the German Men’s Eight, the German Lightweight Men’s Single Scull, Jason Osbourne, and the Irish Lightweight Men’s Double Sculls of Paul and Gary O’Donovan, to take the top award.

Polish women surge to the front

Poland's Women's quadruple sculls team of Agnieszka Kobus-Zawojska, Marta Wieliczko, Maria Springwald and Katarzyna Zillmann claimed the Women's Crew of the Year award.

The quartet were in fine form at the European Championships this year to win gold and followed that up by beating the reigning Olympic champions, Germany, to win the 2018 World Championship title in Bulgaria.

Their time in Plovdiv enroute to world domination was just two seconds shy of the World Best Time.

Ireland's top coach

Dominic Casey was named World Rowing Coach of the Year.

He guided Ireland's Paul and Gary O'Donavan to gold in the lightweight double at the 2018 World Championships. The duo were also nominated for the Men's Crew of the Year but lost out to the Australians.

Casey was one of three nominations for Ireland in Berlin.

Sanita Puspure who won Ireland’s first ever world championship gold medal in the heavyweight women’s single sculls last September, was also in contention for the Women's Crew of the Year award.

Recognising up and coming talent

Sri Lanka's Amidu Silva claimed the Filippi Spirit Award.

The award honours university student rowers, who encapsulate World Rowing’s core values.

The chemical engineering student at the University of Moratuwa is the captain of the rowing crew and has won both academic awards and rowing awards, most recently competing in the 2018 World University Championships.

The awards comes with a prize boat sponsored by one of the world's top rowing boat manufacturers.

Enjoyed this story? Share it with your friends!