Bhavesh Shekhawat and Aakansha Bansal impress in 25m Rapid Fire Pistol as national shooting trials conclude

Both shooters impressed in the final round after lacklustre performances in the qualifiers

By Samrat Chakraborty ·

Bhavesh Shekhawat and Aakansha Bansal of the Central Industrial Security Force (CISF), won the Men’s and Women’s 25M Rapid Fire Pistol (RFP) T2 competitions, as the final day of the National Shooting trials concluded at the Dr. Karni Singh Shooting Range in New Delhi.

Bhavesh shot an impressive 32 with three 5s and 4s to comprehensively beat Delhi's Arpit Goel, who could manage to shoot only 27. Adarsh Singh occupied the third position with a score of 23.

Gurpreet Singh, who won the qualifiers with a score of 580, saw a dip in form and finished fifth. Fellow army men Neeraj Kumar and Harpreet Singh finished fourth and sixth respectively.

In the women's category, Akansha shot 548 to achieve the top spot after the precision and rapid-fire rounds. Arunima Gaur came second with 544 while Tejaswi had to settle for the third spot with 542.

Niveditha Nair, who aced the T1 qualification round with a score of 540, finished 12th with 503.

The highlight of the trials, which began on January 6, remains Uttar Pradesh's Saurabh Chaudhary and Haryana's Manu Bhaker with their superlative performances. They were crowned champions of the T1 men's and women's 10M Air Pistol trials respectively.

The world number four Saurabh and world number two Manu, not only topped their qualification rounds but also went on to win the finals. Chaudhary went a step ahead and bettered the world record score of North Korea's Kim Song Guk (246.5) with a staggering 246.9.