Chandrakant Mali shines at Senior National Weightlifting Championships

Jeremy Lalrinnunga and Mirabai Chanu were adjudged the Best Senior Men's Lifter and Best Senior Women's Lifter respectively at the Senior National Weightlifting Championships.

By Olympic Channel Writer ·

The Senior National Weightlifting Championships on Friday witnessed Services’ Chandrakant Mali break three records to win the concluding day honours even though Railways were the eventual champions, winning both the men's and women's trophies.

As many as 41 National records were created in the five-day meet that saw 419 lifters in both the men's and women's sections vying for top honours.

Former world champion Mirabai Chanu was adjudged the Best Senior Women's Lifter with 865.796 'Robi points' after she smashed three records to win the women's 49kg title.

'Robi Points' is the official International Weightlifting Federation (IWF) calculation method that compares an individual athlete’s total results across each of the IWF bodyweight categories.

Youth Olympic champion Jeremy Lalrinnunga was the Best Senior Men's Lifter with 658.962 'Robi points' after creating a record in clean and jerk en route to winning the men's 67kg for Services.

Meanwhile, Chandrakant Mali – bronze medal winner at the 2014 Commonwealth Games – lifted a total of 330kg and went on to improve the previous best mark by 6kg. Ankit Chhoker, who had set the previous best mark finished second with a total lift of 316kg, while his Railways colleague VA Christopher settled for third.

Chandrakant Mali bettered Ankit Chhoker’s record by 1kg in snatch after lifting 149kg and was at his best in clean and jerk, where he improved the record by a further 5kg with an effort of 181kg on his first attempt.

Indian Railways eventually reigned supreme at the end of the five-day meet, winning both the men's and women's titles by collecting 246 and 232 points respectively. Services finished men's runners-up with 232 points, while Maharashtra bagged second place in the women's section with 202 points.

Results: Men's 109kg: Chandrakant Mali (SSCB) (149+181=330); Ankit Chhoker (RSPB) (144+172=316); VA Christopher (RSPB) (140+176=316).

Men's +109kg: Gurdeep Singh (RSPB) (162+205=367); Vipan Kumar (SSCB) (158+205=363); Jaspreet Singh (AIPSCB) (156+185=341).