Wendie Renard and Robert Lewandowski head nominees for The Best FIFA awards

Champions League victors on shortlist for big individual player awards with winner announced on 17 December.

By Rory Jiwani ·

The shortlists have been released for The Best FIFA Football Awards with the winners announced on 17 December.

After leading Lyon to a seventh UEFA Women's Champions League, two-time Olympian Wendie Renard is among the 11 nominees for The Best FIFA Women's Player with no members of reigning world champions USA - including last year's winner Megan Rapinoe - making the list.

Lionel Messi and Cristiano Ronaldo are once again on the men's shortlist, but a stronger candidate for the big prize is Robert Lewandowski whose goals helped fire Bayern Munich to UEFA Champions League glory in this COVID-affected year.

There are seven individual awards in total including best men's and women's goalkeepers and coaches, and the FIFA Puskas Award for best goal of the year.

European-based players dominate women's Best shortlist

All 11 players on The Best FIFA Women's Player list are based in Europe with most taking a big hand in last season's Women's Champions League.

Five members of Lyon's final-winning side are in there including Lucy Bronze who has since returned to Manchester City.

As well as captain Renard, there are her international team-mate Delphine Cascarino, Japan's Kumagai Saki and German Dzsenifer Marozsan.

Pernille Harder, who captained losing finalists VfL Wolfsburg before joining English champions Chelsea, is also on the shortlist.

In August, the Dane spoke to Olympic Channel about her viral kiss with girlfriend, and now team-mate, Magdalena Eriksson and her hopes of playing at the Olympic Games.

Completing the shortlist are prolific Arsenal and Netherlands striker Vivianne Miedema, Chelsea pair Ji So-yun and Sam Kerr, and FC Barcelona duo Jennifer Hermoso and Caroline Graham Hansen.

Four Liverpool players listed for men's Best award

Despite Bayern Munich claiming their first Champions League title for seven years after winning a German domestic double, only one current player - Lewandowski - is on the 11-strong shortlist.

Thiago Alcantara was also in the side that beat Paris Saint-Germain in August's final in Lisbon, but has since joined Liverpool.

The English side, who ended their 30-year wait for a domestic league title, are the most represented club on the shortlist courtesy of Alcantara, Olympians Sadio Mane and Mo Salah, and Dutch defender Virgil van Dijk.

Rio 2016 gold-medal winning captain Neymar and his PSG team-mate Kylian Mbappe are also there, as are two-time previous winner Ronaldo and 2019 recipient Messi.

Rounding out the shortlist are Manchester City's Belgian midfielder Kevin de Bruyne and Real Madrid and Spain captain Sergio Ramos.

Neymar at age 17

Neymar had only just turned professional in 2009 but his outstanding talent...

Voting and judging for The Best FIFA Awards

The shortlists were selected by two separate expert panels, one for women's football and one for men's.

Public voting is now open at and votes can be cast until 23.59 CET on 9 December.

FIFA will then announce the three finalists in the player, goalkeeper and coach categories on 11 December.

The exception is the Puskas Award where fan votes and those from the 'FIFA Legends' carry equal weighting.

The seven individual awards, plus winners of the FIFA Fair Play Award and FIFA Fan Award, and the members of the FIFA FIFPro Men's and Women's World 11s will be announced at the virtual award ceremony on 17 December.