Fraser-Pryce among 11 nominees for IAAF's Female World Athlete of the Year

Ten gold medallists from Doha 2019 and Kenya’s record-breaking marathon runner feature on IAAF’s 11-woman shortlist 

By Michael Hincks ·

Shelly-Ann Fraser-Pryce is among the 10 champions from the 2019 World Athletics Championships to feature in the IAAF’s shortlist for Female World Athlete of the Year.

Kenya’s Brigid Kosgei, who recently broke the women’s world record when winning the Chicago Marathon, is the only athlete on the 11-woman shortlist who did not star at Doha 2019.

Jamaican sprinter Fraser-Pryce won her fourth 100m crown with a world-leading time in Qatar before winning her ninth world gold overall in the 4x100m relay.

  • Female World Athlete of the Year shortlist: Beatrice Chepkoech (Kenya), Shelly-Ann Fraser-Pryce (Jamaica), Katarina Johnson-Thompson (Great Britain), Sifan Hassan (Netherlands), Brigid Kosgei (Kenya), Mariya Lasitskene (Authorised Neutral Athlete), Malaika Mihambo (Germany), Dalilah Muhammad (USA), Salwa Eid Naser (Bahrain), Hellen Obiri (Kenya), Yulimar Rojas (Venezuela)

Other track athletes nominated include Bahrain’s Salwa Eid Naser – who claimed the 400m title with the third-fastest time in history – and 400m hurdles champion Dalilah Muhammad, a gold-medallist in the 4x400m as well.

Sifan Hassan of the Netherlands features after producing world-leading times to win the 1500m and 10,000m in Doha.

Katarina Johnson-Thompson won heptathlon gold at the worlds

Kenyan duo Hellen Obiri (world 5000m champion) and Beatrice Chepkoech (3000m steeplechase champion) also make the cut.

Field champions Mariya Lasitskene (high jump), Malaika Mihambo (long jump) and Yulimar Rojas (triple jump) all feature after capping off fine years with wins in Qatar.

And a stellar campaign for Great Britain’s Katarina Johnson-Thompson, undefeated in all combined indoor and outdoor competitions, means the world heptathlon champion completes the impressive list.

On Monday, Eliud Kipchoge was named on the 11-man shortlist for Male World Athlete of the Year following his momentous 1:59:40 marathon time in Vienna on the weekend.

  • Male World Athlete of the Year shortlist: Donavan Brazier (USA), Christian Coleman (USA), Joshua Cheptegei (Uganda), Timothy Cheruyiot (Kenya), Steven Gardiner (Bahamas), Sam Kendricks (USA), Eliud Kipchoge (Kenya), Noah Lyles (USA), Daniel Stahl (Sweden), Christian Taylor (USA), Karsten Warholm (Norway)