India name squad for IAAF World Championships

25-strong squad will travel to Doha, with possible late entrants to be added

By Naveen Peter ·

The Athletics Federation of India have announced a 25-member squad for the upcoming IAAF World Championships in Doha, Qatar.

The list includes the likes of national record holder in 1500m Jinson Johnson, Avinash Sable (3000m steeplechase), Tajinder Pal Singh Toor (shot put), PU Chitra (1500m) and Anu Rani (javelin throw).

The federation has also included seven athletes each for the 4x400m relay events. This includes the likes of Muhammed Anas, Dharun Ayyasamy, Hima Das and MR Poovamma.

The AFI also informed that Dutee Chand (100m) and Tejaswin Shankar (high jump) could also be added to the list once the world governing body sends invitations for the athletes to make the maximum number of participants in the respective events.

Neeraj Chopra with the Indian flag

Neeraj misses out

The meeting, chaired by Olympian Gurbachan Singh Randhawa, also discussed if javelin thrower and one of India’s brightest stars in recent history, Neeraj Chopra, could be included in the squad for the Worlds.

Even though Chopra qualified for the Worlds before getting his elbow operated in May, the selection panel decided to keep Chopra out of the Doha meet and allow him to continue his recuperation ahead of the Olympic year.

Tejaswin Shankar will have to undergo a confirmatory trial if he is to receive an IAAF invitation for the World Championships

Confirmatory trials

The selection panel has also confirmed that Dutee and Tejaswin will have to undergo a confirmatory trial if they are to receive invitations for the IAAF. The trials are expected to be held on September 21 at the National Insitute of Sports, Patiala.

Tejaswin, who is at the Kansas State University in the US on a four-year athletics scholarships, will have to travel to India and will be expected to clear the height of 2.25 metres at least if he is to be included in the Indian team.

The 20-year-old, who wrapped up his NCAA season in June has a season-best of 2.27 metres and a personal best of 2.29 metres, which is also the national record. The qualification bar for the Worlds was set at 2.30 metres.

Indian hopes

Traditionally, Indians have struggled for success at the World Championships, with Anju Bobby George being the only athlete from the country to win a medal at the competition. The high jumper managed a bronze at the 2003 edition in Paris.

Squad: Men:

Jabir MP (400m Hurdles), Jinson Johnson (1500m), Avinash Sable (3000m Steeplechase), KT Irfan and Devender Singh (20km Race Walk), Gopi T (Marathon), Sreeshankar M (Long Jump), Tajinder Pal Singh Toor (Shot Put), Shivpal Singh (Javelin Throw), Muhammed Anas, Nirmal Noah Tom, Alex Antony, Amoj Jacob, KS Jeevan, Dharun Ayyasamy and Harsh Kumar (4x400m Men’s & Mixed Relay).


PU Chitra (1500m), Annu Rani (Javelin Throw), Hima Das, Vismaya VK, Poovamma MR, Jisna Mathew, Revathi V, Subha Venkatesan, Vithya R (4x400m Women & Mixed Relay)