India at Tokyo 2020: Athletes who booked a place at the Olympics

A comprehensive list of every Indian team and athlete to have booked a berth for the Tokyo Olympics.

By Olympic Channel Writer ·

The number of Indian athletes participating in the Summer Olympic Games has seen a rise in each of its past three editions and all signs point to the finest athletes continuing that trend for India at Tokyo 2020.

More than 70 Indian athletes have already earned a quota for next year’s showpiece event in Japan, with many more in contention to qualify for the Tokyo Olympics.

Below is the name of all Indians qualified for the Olympics in Tokyo, sorted by their sport, discipline and category:


  1. Tarundeep Rai, Men’s Recurve, Individual
  2. Atanu Das, Men’s Recurve, Individual
  3. Pravin Jadhav, Men’s Recurve, Individual
  4. Deepika Kumari, Women's Recurve, Individual

The men's trio will also compete as a team at Tokyo 2020.


Athletics has never been India’s strong suit at the Olympics but emerging javelin throwers Neeraj Chopra and Shivpal Singh, who sits 16th in the men’s IAAF world rankings, have raised hopes this time around.

The 4x400 mixed relay, which will make its debut at Tokyo 2020, will also see an Indian team, which had Asian Games gold-medallist Muhammed Anas, after they finished third at the World Athletics Championships last year.

But it was KT Irfan that offered the first hope when in March 2019, he became the first Indian athlete to qualify for the 2020 Olympics.

  1. KT Irfan, Men's 20km race walking, Individual
  2. Avinash Sable, Men's 3000m Steeplechase, Individual
  3. Neeraj Chopra, Men's Javelin throw, individual
  4. Bhawna Jat, Women's 20km race walking, individual
  5. Shivpal Singh, Men's Javelin throw, individual
  6. 4x400 Mixed Relay


The Indian boxers punched as many as nine tickets to the Tokyo Olympics at the Asia Oceania boxing Olympic qualifiers held in Amman, Jordan.

Indian boxing queen MC Mary Kom has qualified for her second Olympics  

With the World Olympic Boxing qualifiers still to come, the Indian contingent for boxing could expand.

  1. Vikas Krishan (Men's, 69kg)
  2. Lovlina Borgohain (Women's, 69kg)
  3. Ashish Kumar (Men's, 75kg)
  4. Pooja Rani (Women's, 75kg)
  5. Satish Kumar (Men's, 91kg)
  6. Mary Kom (Women's, 51kg)
  7. Amit Panghal (Men's, 52kg)
  8. Manish Kaushik (Men's, 63kg)
  9. Simranjit Kaur (Women's, 60kg)


  • Men’s National Team
  • Women’s National Team

This will be the 20th Olympic Games list to feature the Indian men’s hockey team, who sit fourth in the world rankings, while the women’s side will be making their third appearance and second in succession.

Both teams qualified in November 2019 and each of them will carry a 16-member squad to Tokyo 2020.


As many as 15 Indian shooters have achieved Olympic qualification so far, making it the country’s largest contingent at any Games.

Youngsters Divyansh Singh Panwar and Elavenil Valarivan are highest-ranked in the 10m Air Rifle men’s and women’s respectively, while Manu Bhaker has had prolific returns, so medal expectations are quite high.

Manu Bhaker is a prime medal contender among the Indian shooting contingent that has qualified for Tokyo

While the following athletes have secured a quota place in their respective category, their participation at the showpiece event rest with the National Rifle Association of India (NRAI).

  1. Anjum Moudgil, 10m Women’s Air Rifle, Individual
  2. Apurvi Chandela, 10m Women’s Air Rifle, Individual
  3. Divyansh Singh Panwar, 10m Men’s Air Rifle, Individual
  4. Deepak Kumar, 10m Men’s Air Rifle, Individual
  5. Tejaswini Sawant, 50m Women’s Rifle 3 Position, Individual
  6. Sanjeev Rajput, 50m Men’s Rifle 3 Position, Individual
  7. Aishwarya Pratap Singh Tomar, 50m Men’s Rifle 3 Position, Individual
  8. Manu Bhaker, 10m Women’s Air Pistol, Individual
  9. Yashaswini Singh Deswal, 10m Women’s Air Pistol, Individual
  10. Saurabh Chaudhary, 10m Men’s Air Pistol, Individual
  11. Abhishek Verma, 10m Men’s Air Pistol, Individual
  12. Rahi Sarnobat, 25m Women’s Pistol, Individual
  13. Chinki Yadav, 25m Women’s Pistol, Individual
  14. Angad Veer Singh Bajwa, Men’s Skeet, Individual
  15. Mairaj Ahmad Khan, Men’s Skeet, Individual


There will be at least four grapplers for India at Tokyo 2020, fighting it out for glory.

Wrestler Vinesh Phogat (R) has qualified for her second-straight Olympics

While the following athletes have secured a quota place in their respective category, the Wrestling Association of India will decide if their names feature in the Olympic Games list.

  1. Vinesh Phogat, Women’s Freestyle 53 kg, Individual
  2. Bajrang Punia, Men’s Freestyle 65 kg, Individual
  3. Ravi Kumar Dahiya, Men’s Freestyle 57 kg, Individual
  4. Deepak Punia, Men’s Freestyle 86 kg, Individual.


  1. Fouaad Mirza