Indian shooters face uphill task at the ISSF World Cup Shotgun in Finland

The competition in Lahti starting Wednesday is among the last chances for India to claim a shotgun quota place for the Tokyo 2020 Olympic Games.

The ISSF World Cup Shotgun kicks off this week on 15th August in Lahti, Finland as the best shooters from across the globe battle it out for the top prize.

The event will also be an opportunity for athletes to stake a claim for Tokyo 2020 with the top two performers bagging quota places.

For Indian shooters, this counts among the few remaining events to try and qualify for the forthcoming Olympic Games with November’s Asian Shooting Championships in Doha being the other one this calendar year.

While several of the nation’s premier shooters like Manu Bhaker, Saurabh Chaudhary and Rahi Sarnobat have already qualified, India has yet to earn a shotgun quota place increasing the pressure on performances in Lahti.

Shagun Chowdhary is one of India’s top-ranked markswomen
Shagun Chowdhary is one of India’s top-ranked markswomenShagun Chowdhary is one of India’s top-ranked markswomen

Indian hopes

Based on current form, qualifying for Tokyo 2020 looks a long shot with Indians failing to make the top five at any ISSF World Cup held this year.

However, the country boasts several talented shotgun athletes like Kynan Chenai and Manavjit Singh Sandhu who have delivered quality performances on the biggest stage in the past.

In the women’s trap, Seema Tomar and Shagun Chowdhary remain the nation’s top candidates, but they face tough competition from the likes of Perilli Alessandra and Couzy Melanie who are amongst the top-ranked players yet to qualify for the Summer Olympics.

Most of India’s shotgun shooters have struggled to find their rhythm and consistency in the past year and face a difficult challenge at the upcoming World Cup.

Although India has 12 participants in Lahti, it is unlikely that the event would prove to be a success owing to the superior level of competition coupled with the nation’s shooters looking out of form.

India Squad

Angad Vir Singh Bajwa - Men’s Skeet

Mairaj Khan - Men’s Skeet

Anant Singh Naruka - Men’s Skeet

Manavjit Singh Sandhu - Men’s Trap

Kynan Chenai - Men’s Trap, Mixed Team Trap

Prithviraj Tondaiman - Men’s Trap, Mixed Team Trap

Areeba Khan - Women’s Skeet

Karttiki Shaktawat - Women’s Skeet

Saniya Sheikh - Women’s Skeet

Manisha Keer - Women’s Trap

Seema Tomar - Women’s Trap, Mixed Team Trap

Shagun Chowdhary - Women’s Trap, Mixed Team Trap

Enjoyed this story? Share it with your friends!