Mary Kom beats Nikhat Zareen, Will Head to Olympic Qualifier 

The 2012 Olympic bronze medallist crushes her nemesis 9-1 at the BFI trials.

By Olympic Channel Writer ·

The much talked about rivalry between six-time world champion MC Mary Kom and upcoming boxing prodigy Nikhat Zareen has finally reached a conclusion, as the veteran pugilist from Manipur outpunched her nemesis by a convincing 9-1 margin at the BFI trials in New Delhi on Saturday, December 28.

It was the women’s 51kg category in which both Mary Kom and Nikhat Zareen were supremely dominant in their previous bouts, claiming unanimous 10-0 wins to setup a clash in the final. Mary Kom, however, proved too strong for Zareen on this occasion, as she managed to dominate her 23-year-old opponent throughout and booked her berth as India’s participant in her weight category. The Olympic qualifier event will be held in China in February 2020.

Sarita Devi misses out

India’s veteran pugilist and 2014 Commonwealth Games silver medallist Laishram Sarita Devi was in for quite a surprise as she was defeated by Simranjeet Kaur in the final of the women’s 60kg category.

Reigning national champion Simranjeet Kaur’s quick reflexes and accurate punching helped her claim an 8-2 split decision victory over her 37-year-old opponent and book her place for the Olympic qualifiers. 

In the women’s 75kg category, the 2014 Asian Games bronze medallist Pooja Rani claimed a unanimous 10-0 victory over Nupur to confirm her ticket for Wuhan.

Borgohain continues to impress

In the women’s 69kg category, it was the lanky pugilist from Assam, Lovlina Borgohain, who triumphed in the final, defeating Lalita 10-0 by unanimous verdict.

The victory rounds off a successful year for Borgohain, who picked up a bronze medal at the 2019 AIBA Women’s Boxing Championships and also claimed a gold at the Umakhanov Memorial International Boxing Tournament. 

Haryana’s Sakshi Chaudhary completed the Indian women’s roster for the Olympic qualifier event in Wuhan, China as she claimed a 9-1 split decision victory over Sonia Lather in the 57kg category.