Benoit Paire to headline 2020 Tata Open Maharashtra 

The likes of Ivo Karlovic and Philipp Kohlschreiber will also be participating in this ATP event.

By Olympic Channel Writer ·

French tennis player Benoit Paire will return to India for the second year in a row, after signing up for the 2020 Tata Open Maharashtra.

The world no. 24 will be joined by the likes of Ivo Karlovic, who was the runner-up of the competition last year and Philipp Kohlschreiber, who will be making his debut in this ATP tournament.

Defending champion Kevin Anderson of South Africa, however, will not be present to defend his crown in the new season.

Momentous occasion

“This is a very special edition when we are celebrating 25 years of ATP Tour in India. The tournament has always had a rich legacy of champions playing here and the silver jubilee year will be no different as we hope to roll out yet another memorable edition of thrilling tennis action. The level of the event is high and we are happy with the way this event has grown over the last three editions,” said Prashant Sutar, Tournament Director of Tata Open Maharashtra, as reported by

India’s only ATP 250 event, however, has been shifted to early February next year form its usual January schedule in order to accommodate the inaugural ATP Cup. The Tata Open Maharashtra will now be played after the Australian Open.

Apart from Paire and Karlovic, the likes of Thomas Fabbiano, Jiri Vesely, and South Korean prodigy Soonwoo Kwon will also be participating in the 2020 Tata Open Maharashtra.

Indians in the fray

27-year-old Yuki Bhambri is scheduled to make a comeback to competitive tennis at the Maharashtra Open. Bhambri has been out of action for nearly a year after suffering a knee injury, but should be fit by February.

Apart from him, India’s main tennis stars like Sumit Nagal, Ramkumar Ramanathan, and Prajnesh Gunneswaran are also expected to participate in this competition.

Another treat for home fans should be the chance to see veterans Leander Paes and Rohan Bopanna take the court in Pune’s Mahalunge Balewadi Stadium.