USA Boxing confirms roster for Boxing Road to Tokyo Americas qualifiers

PanAm Games champ Oshae Jones and 2019 World silver medallist Keyshawn Davis are among the 13-strong team trying to qualify for Tokyo 2020.

By ZK Goh ·

The 2019 Pan American Games champion Oshae Jones is among the 13 boxers named by USA Boxing for the upcoming Boxing Road to Tokyo Americas Olympic qualifiers in Buenos Aires, Argentina.

Jones, the women's welterweight gold medallist in Lima, beat teammate Christina Cruz in the final of USA Boxing's designated selection tournament in Sofia, Bulgaria to earn her chance in the Argentinian capital.

AIBA World Championships silver medallist from 2019, Keyshawn Davis, has been selected in the men's lightweight category.

The eight men and five women will box for Tokyo 2020 quotas in Buenos Aires from 26 March–3 April 2020. Anyone who misses out will have a final chance at the World Qualification Tournament in Paris, France, in May.

Don't forget, you can watch exclusive digital coverage of all five qualification tournaments – Africa, Asia/Oceania, Europe, Americas, and World – only on Olympic Channel. Here's everything you need to know.


20 Feb - 15 Mar 2020

Tokyo 2020 Olympic Qualification Tournaments

Dakar, Amman, London, Buenos Aires, Paris

Another boxer selected for the qualifiers team is women's featherweight Andrea Medina.

Medina lost to a Ukrainian boxer in the final of the Strandja Tournament in Sofia, but was the top-ranked American in the Bulgarian capital, thus confirming her spot on the roster.

She told Team USA: "It being my first ever international tournament, I was very proud of how far I got in the tournament and getting that silver medal. I was very happy with all my performances and I am excited to get back to work on things I need to improve on.

"Reaching the Olympics has been my main goal throughout my boxing career so now that it is so close makes me want to work even harder."

Virginia Fuchs (lightweight), Rashida Ellis (lightweight), and Naomi Graham (middlweight) complete the women's team.

The other male boxers who have been named to the squad are: Anthony Herrera (flyweight), Bruce Carrington (featherweight), Delante Johnson (welterweight), Joseph Hicks (middleweight), Rahim Gonzalez (light heavyweight), Darius Fulghum (heavyweight), and Richard Torrez Jr (super heavyweight).

USA Boxing head coach Billy Walsh said: "We feel the 13 boxers that earned their place on the Olympic Qualification Team will be the best team to represent Team USA at the upcoming qualifiers, as well as have the best opportunity to qualify a full team to the 2020 Olympic Games Tokyo."

The U.S. won three medals in the sport at Rio 2016: gold for Claressa Shields, silver for Shakur Stevenson, and bronze for Nico Hernández.